I’m Shutting Down

government-shutdownAn acquaintance of mine works for our government in one of the “essential” areas. Lucky for him.  At least he receives a percentage of his pay and gets the benefit of continuing to wake up early, face rush hour, and go into a present, but “demoralized” office.  He mentioned defaulting on his mortgage as an option if things don’t turn around soon.  Although it was said in jest, it made me think about what Americans *learn* from situations like this: our government, the currency standard of the world, the uh-em, leader of the free world, hated, feared, respected– can shut down? Ok, let me get this straight?  I’m having a rough week. Going on seems difficult.  I’m tired and overwhelmed… so I’m going to do what any superhero-country would do: shut down.  I’m not going to pay my bills, mow my lawn, feed my kids.  Alright, kids are essential, but I’m not going to do the dishes.  And bathing is totally out.

Because our pillar, Uncle Sam, can be so irresponsible, (even if the end hopefully justifies the means) why should my friend feel the slightest duty to pay that mortgage of his?  Why should kids get off their butts and get a real job when they can get health care covereage under mommy and daddy until they’re 26?  How smart would it be to work for your money, when our sugar daddy government loves to dole it out for free?  On the red-white-and-blue credit card, of course.  Credit we’re about to extend ourselves more of… Our grandparents had scads of kids and were working to hold up the economy at 26 years old.  Now the greatest acheivement of a 26-year-old lifetime college student is his ability to play the ocarina on The Legend of Zelda– that’s helpful to our national security and prosperity.

This responsibility freefall is the beginning of the end for this country.  A system that routinely encourages laziness, apathy, and irresponsibility will produce that bitter fruit.  And we get to eat it.

10 thoughts on “I’m Shutting Down

  1. Nice. during my active Mom years I used to yearn to go on strike. The media is having way too much fun with all of this. What happens if people realize they are paying for stuff that isn’t really needed? Just sayin’

  2. Thought provoking article. It is disappointing when the people we are supposed to look up to are setting such a poor example for our children, and us! I’m glad the ultimate example -God – never shuts down, closes His doors or is unavailable.

  3. Well written Kel, I’m getting sick of this entitlement attitude. BTW miss you. Hope all is well!! PS so thankful God is in control.

    • Thanks, my wonderful old friend! I miss you too! How beautiful is faith that has felt the solidness over and over… I remember our talks about God and can still see your face telling me that Berea was a place of warmth. It was at that moment I decided to stay. Still so thankful for those days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

