Fountain of Growth: A Milkshake That’s as Good as it is Good4U

Our son, Luke, has shot up faster than Jack’s beanstalk.  That wouldn’t be noteworthy, except Bob & I are short folk.  So the soccer moms I know were thinking that perhaps we’d stumbled upon the fountain of growth… I mean, what else could account for such altitudinous stature?  Surely not our gene pool.  And no, he’s not adopted.  But we do drink this shake every morning for breakfast. Fountain of growth?  Maybe.  Regardless, it’s as good as it is good4U.  I stand by that, and I have the sweetest tooth this side of the Mississippi.

Warning: I just throw stuff in and keep checking to see how it looks.  The amounts are estimates at best.

Chocolate_Banana_Milkshake_002Chocolate Peanut Butter Milkshake

1 frozen banana

2+ Tbls. peanut butter

1 – 2 tsps. cocao powder

1/2 cup plain yogurt (Greek or regular)

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 Tbls. frozen apple juice concentrate

1 Tbls. ground flax seed

1 cup milk (any kind, including ricemilk, soy, or almond)

4 – 5 fresh spinach leaves

1 Tbls. powdered sugar (optional)

Blend all in a blender until banana chunks are gone.  Start with less liquid and add more to thin out if necessary.

5 thoughts on “Fountain of Growth: A Milkshake That’s as Good as it is Good4U

  1. I forgot about this recipe. I think we are going to take a mandatory break from school work and go make them right now! Given that it’s 11:00am and my children haven’t had breakfast yet – maybe this will help earn my mommy badge back?

Leave a Reply

