Fiction, a Confession

The beauty of fiction is that you can say all the things you wanted to say, then shrug and tell people, It’s fiction. It’s like being in the confessional booth with a stuffed bear. Father, forgive me. I put a saber between the ribs of my neighbor’s hound dog for defecating on my lawn today. Go in peace, my son, and sin no more…

Or this.

What? You say that story resembles a moment when you pissed me off so badly that I wanted to call down the host of heaven to peck your eyes out and eat your flesh in thousands of little bites so that you’d feel the pain long enough to satiate my wrath? Why, you misunderstand me, that was fiction.

Fiction is everything you want to do and everything you wouldn’t do, all jumbled up like borscht so that no one recognizes which is blood and which is beets. And that, my friends, is a safe space. In fiction I can be the strong, courageous person I want to be. Things turn out the way they should. Writing fiction is like being governor in my own utopian state.

Fiction, for me is The Best Lie.

And the best lies are mostly true. I once used that statement to refer to the story of Jesus, and the pastor trying to lead me through the narrow gate nearly fell out of his seat. But lest we of faith get all bent out of shape that I speak of lies… Fiction, which is a contractual agreement that I’m-going-to-lie-to-you-and-you’re-going-to-be-good-with-it, can explore truth in ways that an I-essay can’t. Fiction is the couch and the therapist whose oath of secrecy means he can’t tattle on me as I offload my baggage. I throw out my grenades and hope my therapist will still be there when the dust clears. It’s that way with God, too. God knows which is blood and which is beets, and He still loves us. Think about that for a moment.

And when the dust clears, after writing something that’s beautiful and mostly true and the parts that aren’t would be, were this heaven or my utopia– when that happens… it’s glorious.

It’s fiction.

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Fiction, a Confession

  1. This is really nice! I like it a lot! I would just suggest not posting cuss words in them, it takes away from the beauty.

    • Haha! I have a secret website for most of my fiction… my couch, so to speak. I’d love to share it with you via email. I value your perspective tremendously. Thanks for reading, Laura. 🙂

      • That would be lovely. Send the link please. I’m working on a website but am deciding between weebly and square space so it’s all just learning right now

  2. You post makes me want to go write fiction – right now! True words, you words about lies are. I love “God knows which is blood and which is beets, and He still loves us.” How grateful I am for grace.

  3. It’s good to remind yourself of these basic truths about fiction sometimes. This definitely makes me want to get back to writing because the therapeutic benefits alone are what I think I need right now. Don’t worry about language. Those words exist because people use them in real life. Therefore it’s only natural that they should be used in our writing. Good luck with your writing and I’m glad I found your blog.

    • I’m glad to have found yours as well! Thank you for your perspective on words and on writing in general. Sometimes I want to write, but I’ve no story in mind. Then I write about writing because it’s the next best thing. 🙂 Best to you in your publishing endeavors!

  4. Beautifully written and yes oh so true. That is why I too have a love for fiction, I can explore those unexplored/hidden emotions in my writing.

    And I love how you put it:

    But lest we of faith get all bent out of shape that I speak of lies… Fiction, which is a contractual agreement that I’m-going-to-lie-to-you-and-you’re-going-to-be-good-with-it.

    And how good with it we are, that fictional movies are making billions…

    • Thanks for stopping, Nthato. I am still working my way toward getting as lost in the process of writing as I do in reading. It happens every so often, and it gives me hope. On the days I just can’t seem to imagine well, I write about writing!

  5. Pingback: The in-Sanity of Emotional Writing | A-Scribe To Describe

  6. Pingback: Through the Looking Glass | A-Scribe To Describe

Leave a Reply

