Z is for Zero Regrets

ZMade it to Z, folks! *thunderous applause* When I decided to participate in the A to Z Writing Challenge, I was apprehensive– not at the thought of putting out words at firehose pressure, but at the thought of my perfectiosis regarding those words. I’ve spent more hours on a handful of words that will get skimmed by three people than Mozart spent writing Symphony No. 5.

The biggest problem: I didn’t have a theme. Oh, I tried to think of one. I stewed on it for weeks. Nothing came. Sometimes that happens to writers. Haha…

So first day of the challenge, I had no theme, no pre-written posts like they suggest, no A-word. I felt like an A-word trying to carve something worthwhile out of thin air. But that’s behind me now. Thank you, Jesus.

Now that the challenge is over, your social feeds will be cleaner. For those who actually read my posts, I thank you, especially you beautiful souls who took time out of your busy schedules to send me a 10-4 good buddy. They say the difference between a good writer and a bad one is the bad ones give up. But I say maybe the bad ones didn’t have a cheerleader or two. My heart is full at the thought of my friends and family who support me. *tears*

Did you know Robert Frost was insecure? Even after he became totally no-contest famous. So never think your kind words to a writer are wasted. I love writing for writing’s sake, but I’m not going to lie– when I see comment in my inbox, it’s like Christmas.

Then there are the connections I’ve made along the way. I bolded the links so you can check them out if you’re so inclined. One fellow blogger used the challenge to write a book, using the alphabet letters as chapter titles.  Another blogger I stumbled upon or vice versa captured in words what I love about writing: Perhaps the pleasure of being a writer comes from the ability to lose oneself in a world filled with words and metaphors, muse and madness; because it is in this lunacy that we find and curve our niche in this world. – Abu Amira.

I’d like to end with a shout out to my dear friend Nancy, who I roped into doing this challenge with me, who’s up to any crazy idea I throw at her, including sledding backwards down a humongous hill… Nancy, whose theme I desperately wished to I’d thought of– our position as children of God, A to Z.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Z is for Zero Regrets

  1. lol OMG.. I wondered who this one fellow blogger was , who had the same idea as mine until i clicked … :D.. Thank you 🙂 it means a lot.

    I remember you telling me you had no idea what to do for the challenge on my first chapter. I myself had come up with the idea few days before. Well few of your posts i enjoyed and few confused and few i missed as well 😦 …
    Overall i liked them a lot…

    Congratulations and take care 🙂

  2. Congratulations on finishing!! Thanks for the shout out – and thanks for always pulling me to excellence. I’m a better person because of you.

  3. I hope you consider doing another A to Z challenge now that you have gained momentum!! I have been thoroughly delighted by your wit and whimsy as well as deeply touched your candid sincerity. P.S. Cut yourself some slack – Mozart wrote his 5th Symphony presumably while convalescing from an illness at age 9. Many things came more easily when we were younger, don’t you agree?. Yet even if the outpouring of creativity may somewhat ebb with age, you are an inspiration to us all with your tenacity to see the task through to a “practically perfect” finale! Bravo!

    • I do agree that many things come easier when we’re younger (except perhaps, sleep!). I had no idea Motzart wrote #5 at nine years old- incredible. Thanks for reading and for your kind words. It blesses me to know that my posts give you a smile or a frown or whatever emotion I’m feeling that day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

