Y is for Yoga

Y

Yoga can be a religion. But so can Netflix. Not that I’m converting, but I’ve never heard of a yoga practitioner who donned a suit of explosives and took out a plaza… Yoga people, the religious sort, are usually wiry, elven, stoic folk who don’t talk much and never eat. Being only elvin, I’m more of an ala carte practioner: no spiritual frills, just the poses.

What I love about yoga is that it’s exercise for people who don’t like pain. I know that doesn’t make sense considering the impossible positions into which some yogies tie themselves. What we see as a human pretzel is the result of countless hours inching toward that end. And while genes play a part in yogic range, the secret to success is honoring your limits at each practice. Initially, yoga is about humility.

True story. I’m working through a new yoga video when my son comes in the room and says Why aren’t you doing what they’re doing? because he doesn’t know I am doing what they’re doing. He also doesn’t know I’m honoring my limits. 🙂

yoga

The only way to improve yoga is to practice it on a beach.

A friend of mine teaches a yoga-based class to our homeschool group. She calles it Outstretched Gym. While we’re stretching or holding the poses, she prompts us to think of different aspects of God. You’ll never hear her say down dog or namaste, but the students get a great yoga workout and a fresh perspective on Jesus. I think they see an adult mastering her body in a way they can’t– quite, and it cultivates respect.

Yoga is not like other exercises. It actually feels good much of the time, depending on how you practice. Man yoga is for people who just have to have pain. Brand-new learners, check out the DVD “The Flow Series: Earth.” And my latest love, the YouTube series by The Yoga Vine is an intermediate 45-minute practice I never have to psych myself into.

You’re welcome.

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Y is for Yoga

    • Thanks much for reading! I like the idea too. It sounds better than, “I’m a yoga wimp” or “I feel like my muscles will actually snap if I go any farther.” 😉

  1. So happy that you are getting into yoga. It is interesting that so many see yoga as an exclusive religious practice when it really is an exercise that brings you closer to whatever God or belief system you follow. Some have argued that Jesus was a yogi!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I completely agree with you that I can be completely focused on God while doing many different forms of exercise. I pray while jogging (usually for strength and for the pain to go away… lol). I pray while doing yoga. And the benefits of doing yoga— outstanding! BTW, you ran a marathon in 2013? Excellent.

      • Actually, I did not run a marathon in 2013. It is a coincidental that my email address is run_26.2@hotmail.com and I created my wordpress profile in 2013. Although, I did run a couple of 20K, 25K mountain runs and trained for a 50K mountain run. I ended up not running in that due to a broken toe.:(

      • Even as I posted that comment I thought… well, that’s pretty assumptive of you, Kelly. Wow on all the “K’s.” I’m more of a junk mile runner– 10 minutes. My husband is a marathoner, so I understand the culture from a nosebleed seat. Sorry about your toe! Ouch.

  2. Yoga has changed my life! I started doing it in early February after talking to you. I’d had back pain for months – I’m amazed at how much it’s helped me. I hardly miss a day because I feel so old and creaky if I do. I love yoga with Adrienne.

  3. Thanks for the OS gym shout out! Deep stretching – even if it’s yoga flavored – shouldn’t intimidate believers…on the contrary it can be yet another a vehicle to marvel at the immense creativity of our Lord Jesus who made us so wonderfully and fearfully – achy muscles and all!

  4. Thank you for this post. I am looking for a way to share yoga in the Christian community in a way that people are comfortable with. So many people are interested but there is also so much opposition. I love how you mentioned that yoga is about humility. Not trying to be “better than” but seeking what’s best where we are.

    • I’m glad you found something you can take from this post. The more I do yoga, the more I love it. 🙂 You must too, since you started a blog about it. Cool blog, BTW. I look forward to reading what God puts on your mind as far as health, faith, and yoga goes. Oh, and we BOTH homeschool too. Lots in common!

Leave a Reply

