We’re Almost There, America

Success consists of going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm. – Winston Churchill

Election Day 2016: Half the country will be going from failure to failure today. May we be enthusiastic about it– you know– good sports. If nothing else, it will be over soon. Remember The Passion of the Christ? Jesus trudging and falling under the excruciating weight of the beams he dragged while his life’s blood flowed out hundreds of whip slices, thorn stabs, and even his facial hair, ripped out like so many weeds. Simon of Cyrene told* him, “You’re almost there.” The there being the hill of crucifixion. Not the same as you’re almost there about the finish line of the Boston Marathon. Still, it was meant to encourage. This particular hell is almost over. Focus on that.

Same with today: we’re almost there. But there isn’t going to be pretty either, like as not.

I cast my vote. Life marches on. I fill my tank with gas, get groceries, get my hair cut. The deus ex machina I hope will turn our nation’s story around, but that I also fear will turn our nation’s story on its head– may or may not come today.

When the election looms too large, I’ll remember my walk in the woods. I’ll go there in my memory the way one returns to vacation or a kiss or a victory, and I’ll visit it again and again. I’ll recall the crunch of leaves under my feet, how they fell twisting to the ground like confetti, orange spades the size of hands spiraling through the branches and down past ancient trunks. It only took a slight breeze to touch off the kamikazes, a million deaths fluttering to the ground in a moment, gorgeous. Their smells enter my nose like jazz music, barely realized hypnotism. I am one such leaf, not aware I’m mid-fall, not special, one of a million. Our vast numbers make us marvelous, but not special. Except to God. How masterful is God to orchestrate such beauty in death? The most beautiful image God ever created was a death, was it not?

As the sun sets today and the polls close, it will be the death of this election. We’re almost there. God’s will will be done in America today as it is every day.  That is a great mystery– our free will doesn’t trump God’s will, and death is not the end of a matter. History has proven that over and over again. If our next president means we go from failure to failure, let us do so enthusiastically. This is the victory that has overcome the world, our faith. – 1 John 5:4

fall-1072821_960_720

*Mel Gibson’s The Passion (2004) rendered that speech. The Bible records no words between them, only that Simon was compelled to carry Jesus’ cross.

6 thoughts on “We’re Almost There, America

  1. Love your perspective and voice….and that you voted. I’m going. Soon. Just as soon as I decide who I’m going to vote for. “God’s will will be done.” Amen and amen. With all the turmoil my brain has been in you’d think I was solely responsible for this outcome. So glad God is God and I am not!

    • Haha! Nothing like a last-minute decision. I can totally understand that. I too sometimes wondered why I wrestled so much with the decision. I am just a wee grain of sand after all. But if we all wrestle rather than be blithe about it, I’m sure that’s a good thing.

  2. Kelly thank you so much for your writing. I don’t want you to feel bad about your vote so here is a list of what the Obama and Hillary have done to our country so far. I am so glad it is finally over but the Media is the democratic Party. I wish people can research on their own. Her slogan was together we are Stronger as she rips Donald Trump apart. Do you really think that God would leave us with no choice? I believe he has heard our cries. He gave us a choice between two candidates. But remember this to ease your mind about your vote: This is from a Pastor I was listening to. Makes a lot of sense.and I wanted to share with you because of your passion to follow Christ. I hope this was helpful for you. Miss you and Love you and thanks for sharing!!!!
    1. Trump did not steal your money
    2. He did not raise your taxes
    3. Did not quadruple the price of food.
    4. Did not start a race war
    5. Did not leave any US soldiers in Benghazi to be slaughtered by Muslims.
    6. Did not send the US Navy to fight for Syrian Al-Qaeda.
    7. Did not arm ISIS and exterminate Christians throughout the iddle East.
    8. Trump did not betray Israel
    9. Trump did not provide financing and technologyto Iran’s nuclear weapons program
    10. Trump did not shrivel our military and betray our veterans.
    11. Did not cripple our economy
    12. Did not Increase our debt to 20 trillion dollars
    13. Did not ruin our credit, twice
    14. Did not double African American unemployment.
    15.Did not increase welfare to a record level for eight years.
    16. Trump did not steal your rights, violate US Constitutional law, or commit treason, hundreds of times.
    17. Trump did not free all of terrorists in Guantanamo bay.
    18. Trump is PRO LIFE!

    • You know, I can’t thank you enough for listing that out! I’ve read scads of articles (to the detriment of my other responsibilities!), but you can’t beat a concise list. How thoughtful of you to share it with me. I miss you too! I played ping pong recently, and I always think of you when I play ping pong– especially when I get beat! 😉 The other time I think of you is when I have a delicious squash soup. Crazy, I know. But there you have it. You are a sweet friend, Ginny. 🙂

Leave a Reply

