The Quiet Room of no Social Media

I’m not one of those planner-bloggers. I write what I feel, when I feel it. When I post I’m basically throwing you a real-time snapshot of my mind. I may be feeling a bunch of things, but when I post I’m shining one of those thoughts and offering it to you.

For me, posting has been a sort of reaching out. I post and then I wait. Did anyone like it? Was anyone moved? Who agrees with me? As much as I’ve tried to stop it– my writing, specifically blogging, is a quest for affirmation/connection masquerading as an essay.

A thought occurred to me this morning as I was having my “devotions.” I put quotes around them because they’ve not felt very devoted lately. A dark night of the soul sort of thing, but my internal ravings led me to consider: if Gandhi can fast from food, I can fast from social media. And wouldn’t it be freeing? Not to wonder who liked my posts, who liked my status, my picture, my buffed-up, shiny words? Yes. I decided. Freeing indeed.

I usually scroll through Facebook while I eat my lunch. I’m not sure what I’ll do while I eat, but I used to do something before. It’ll come back. Maybe I’ll taste my food. Time travel back to 1990 wasn’t an option, so turning off notifications will have to do. I’ll be writing my novel in the quiet room of no social media. That’s my real-time plan. Once I have it finished, I’ll come back to beg for beta readers.

Till then.

4 thoughts on “The Quiet Room of no Social Media

  1. I don’t know what I think about this. And I have a million questions! Are you going to blog? Are you going to read the blog comments? I feel like my best friend is leaving for camp for the summer. The timing of this is interesting because I was just looking at apps to schedule my social media posts and looking for ways to increase my interactions online. Interesting indeed. Well, I will miss you and I hope you have fun while you are away!

  2. Read over lunch! That’s what I do on workdays. I try and read on my fifteen minute breaks too, but usually social media wins that battle. But my 30 minute lunch is devoted to food and a book. And then that way you’re guaranteed to read at least a little bit each day.

Leave a Reply

