North Korea Ka-BOOM!

As if there’s not enough excitement in the world with DJT, President You’re-Fired of the United States, enter stage left-his-sanity-behind, Kim Jong-un.

Jong-un’s imminent promotion to world bully lurks just around the corner. Do a Google search and watch in fascinated horror his relentless pursuit of capability to deliver mass extermination to countries far and wide. And the man is clearly not moderate. Have you seen his chins? We all know power corrupts, but what of the hand already corrupted to the point of gangrenous evil? What of that?  Nuclear capability is the coveted mistress of every addled third world leader with ambitions bigger than his britches. And though Jong-un has a rather robust britch, his desire to be prom king outstrips even that.

Today all hundred senators will meet in a top-secret briefing on North Korea. Cue the menacing psycho music because this is some scary… chit. Have you found yourself thankful you don’t live in Hawaii or California? Or worse, South Korea. Most of us have only a hazy clue as to how we got here. The Talking Heads lyrics sum up the confusion rather nicely, whether we’re talking global scale or the 7 lbs of our own hearts:

And you may ask yourself
What is that beautiful house?
And you may ask yourself
Where does that highway go to?
And you may ask yourself
Am I right? Am I wrong?
And you may say yourself, “My God! What have I done?”

Incremental certainties. In my own life I’ve made many choices that have served to increase the temperature of the pot in which I find myself on a slow boil. The US has simmered for years in lobster soup, and now we face a nuclear North Korea, Our pot is about to boil over.

Remember when the Indians got their hands on those new fangled fire sticks? Didn’t bode well for Daniel Boone and friends. And who wouldn’t travel back in time and stop Egypt and the Soviet Union from providing nerve gas to Syria? (They promised to use it on the Israelis, see.) When madmen or even mad men get weaponry, we know the end of the story. And the more lethal the tool, well, let’s just say mother earth will swallow a monstrous birth control pill when a loon starts shooting off a sidearm full of plutonium.

All this to say, it’s a scary world. And a little insane too. How to navigate a world of looming mushroom clouds?

I’m not sure. I didn’t write this post because I have answers. I’ve always been more of an index-finger-wielding, problem-spotting sort of gal. Iceberg ahead.

My best suggestion and what I try to do: Pretend why-are-we-here is a math problem and we have to, on pain of death, solve it. Plumb where the highway goes. Whether the values and opinions we loosely hold are right or wrong. Listen with an open mind to people we hate. Don’t be like dumb, driven cattle, like open holes drinking in whatever koolaid happens to rain down. Be circumspect. And be willing to throw your opinion out there. It provokes conversation and therefore, learning. I’m no political expert, but I do my best to educate myself with what little discretionary time I have. If I vote that’s my bare bones duty.

Those of you who’d rather spend a buck on NPR than on Black Hawks, consider the money it costs to clean up the chaos after some trigger-happy country decides we’re militarily weak enough to take us on. Say, North Korea… How much does that cost the taxpayer? The ones who remain alive to work and contribute to Uncle Sam’s coffer?

Most of us are so busy grabbing our fistful of the American Dream we rarely, if ever, wake up to American Reality. North Korea’s Ka-BOOM! may just be our wake-up call. If not, there’s always a nuclear Iran around the corner as well.

What do you think of the North Korean threat? More saber-rattling or the real deal? What do you think about military spending?

 

 

7 thoughts on “North Korea Ka-BOOM!

  1. 2 Timothy 3:1-3: But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. PEOPLE will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God-having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with them.

    It’s the people, not so much the natural disasters that will be on the loose during the last days. Hmmmm….

  2. “The best defense is a great offense”. My livelihood has always depended on it. It’s what I’ve always done. But, I ask, to what end? Do we let evil run amok? No, but are we really approaching it the best way? It’s a never ending cycle. One is stopped, ten more rise in their place. What is the solution? Perhaps, as you pointed out, listening rather than our typical knee-jerk reactions. But how much can we afford to wait and listen? North Korea has been the same threat since 1950. Honestly, nothing has really changed or escalated. To us it has, because we see it more in the news. But, no, it hasn’t. And, truth be told, much of the threats we face are monsters of our own creation. Not all, but most. Still, fear gets us nowhere quick. Well, maybe not nowhere. But it gets us somewhere none of us want to be.

    • I’m grateful for your response because it causes me to think deeper. My main point is that I fear (there’s that word again!) allowing more desctructive power to gain traction in our world. I do agree we’ve built our own Frankenstein and have done so for many of the same reasons Victor did. (He didn’t count the cost; he just plunged ahead drunk on scientific discovery.)

  3. Or ask yourself, why was it again we invaded Iraq? North Korea? And while we’re at it, let’s just go back to the crusades or before that when the tribes of Israel laid waste (and were wasted in turn)…has anything ever been permanently fixed? My church tries to explain what happens via the concept of Original Sin. I believe it’s just part of being human and that we will never settle things on a global basis. I’m kinda with Voltaire and will try to be good and kind and tend my own garden–because, I just can’t destroy evil. And while we worry, let’s see what we might do to help our neighbors (e.g. East Cleveland where the young are wasting their precious lives…and the old suffer). Yikes! Sorry for the long riff!

    • I do LOVE to provoke a response from my wise friend! 🙂 The longer, the better. I learn best and most when I throw a thread out there and hear alternate perspectives. I completely agree that our present conflict wasn’t born yesterday, that it’s not solvable, and that there are needs everywhere. I read the news and write a post to force myself to think deeply about the issue. If I get feedback, I’m richer for that too. I wasn’t consulted before Hiroshima, but I’m not interested in sharing either. Whatever it takes to keep it that way, is what I think.

Leave a Reply

