Writing: My Quest

When I read something amazing I think, wow, this author must be extraordinary to be able to create this world, these people, this conflict. The Bible says we can know God in this way too, that His invisible attributes are known by His workmanship: our world. On any given day I can be impressed with God’s creation. All I have to do is look at a sunset or a storm or cows grazing silently.

Likewise, when I enter a fictional world held together not by atoms and magnetic forces, but by words and sentences, I ascribe to that creator an amount of awe. I think:  Only a beautiful mind could create such beautiful minds…

That’s why I wrote, initially. I was on a quest for a beautiful mind.

I still remember the first time I wrote fiction. The assignment was to create a scene from several different points of view. I created it, just a little junky park scene where two lovers passed by an old woman sitting on a bench.

I walked around the rest of the day like I had a secret, like I was a wizard or Captain America or just plain SPECIAL. I may look ordinary to you non-writers, but I just created a WORLD. Can Donald J. Trump do that? I think not.

I was hooked junky-style on world building and character creation. Still am. Some days I carry my chapter around in my head and smile to think of it. What began as a quest for me, a proof I’ve got something beautiful inside, became a passion in its own right.

Was there a specific moment you decided to become a writer? Please share! 🙂

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Writing: My Quest

  1. I think I remember that assignment, an assignment from one of WordPress’s university groups, right? (I did it, too).

    For me, I think writing hit me at a young age – when I could create characters and worlds that others found interesting. I was a pretty invisible kid, so anything that made me stand out to others had to be good. 🙂 It died for a long time, though. It wasn’t until later in life that writing took on another purpose for me, and another life.

  2. Yes, it was almost four years ago. I was standing in the North Ridgeville Public library when a friend and fellow writer believed in me and said, “I would be happy to show you how to start a blog.”

Leave a Reply

